Now that you have your Classroom setup and you have created assignments for your students, it is time to go over the Google Classroom interface as a student.
Students will login at the same classroom.google.com adress that teachers use. You can enroll in our Employee Training class using this code to experience Classroom as a student: q742a5p. Students and teachers should download the iPad app or Android app. After logging in, students will see any classes that have been activated for them by teachers that used the classes FCIT created or the classes teachers created themselves and provided a code for them to use.
- Title of class. The 3 dots allow a student to unenroll from a class. If a student is not showing in your Classroom list all of a sudden, they may have unenrolled.
- The teacher’s name and profile photo. You should upload a profile photo to make your class more inviting.
- The student’s Google Drive folder for the class. All the work a student turns in goes in this folder.
As soon as you create an assignment, announcement, or question, it will show up in the class stream for students to see and complete their work.
- The Stream shows everything a teacher has assigned to the class.
- The About tab shows any classroom materials students may need. This is a great place to put a syllabus or link to a Google Drive folder that contains resources for the class.
- For every type of post, the time it was created is displayed. This provides students and teachers with proof of when an assignment was posted.
- The date the assignment is due. When a student has turned in the work, they will see a green checkmark with the word Done next to it.
- Any attachments(Google Docs, YouTube videos, web links, uploads from apps on the iPad, etc) that go along with the assignment, announcement, or question are visible here.
- If enabled by the teacher, students and teachers can leave comments about the assignment.
Turning in an assignment
When a student clicks the title of the assignment or the Open button, they are taken to a page where they can turn in their work.
- The details of the assignment. Includes, the title, details, and any attachments associated with the assignment.
- The list of any files the student is turning in.
- The Add dropdown gives students a chance to upload their work from Drive, provide a link to their work, or upload any type of file from their computer.
- The Create dropdown allows a student to create a Doc, Slide, Sheet, or Drawing. Choosing this option creates those document types with the title of the assignment and the student’s name.
- Students may leave a private comment that only the teacher can see and respond to. Teachers will get a notification when a student leaves a comment.
- When the student has turn in their work, a green checkmark and the word Done will appear here.
- Students use this button to turn in their work.
When students click the Turn in button, they are shown exactly what they are about to submit as their work.
After turning in their work, students can unsubmit their work if they made a mistake and submitted the incorrect file(s). However, as soon as students turn in their work, they are no longer owners of their document. The teachers become the owner until the work is returned to students.
- The score, if any, the student received on their assignment.
- The notification that the student’s work has been returned to them.
- The Resubmit button allows a student to submit work again. This could be used for students who need to make corrections or to turn in draft work.
The student view and assignment workflow is exactly the same on both the web and in the mobile app.
In the final Google Classroom post, we will go over some best practices, tips, and features to make using Google Classroom more efficient.