Curriculum Committee Update

Our newly designed Curriculum Committee is off and running.  We have decided on the following goals for the 2015-16 School Year:

  • Accurately document the curriculum N-12
  • Continue to Develop the New Curriculum Committee/Department Structure by establishing structures and roles
  • Continue to implement and integrate technology to enhance teaching and learning 

The committee members are:

Chris Guides – Science, Al Vernacchio – English, Jim Rosengarten – History, Bill Darling – Math, Cristina Perez – Languages, Hilary Takiff Weiss – Arts, Bob Folwell – Physical Education and Health, Dianne Forman – Support Services, Mary Fran Torpey – Libraries, Dan Crowley – Technology, Robyn Richmond – Quakerism, Sheila Rohrer – Math, Don Denton – Humanities, Art Hall, Alexa Quinn, and Kelly Pierre.

Bold – indicates newly appointed Department Chairs

In addition to the above-stated goals, the committee is also discussing things like In-Service Days, Cyber Day, and Customized Curriculum, just to name a few. The group meets monthly and our meeting notes can be found here.

Reading of the Month:

I found this article on The 13 Most Innovative Schools to be an interesting look into education outside of the US.

October is Learning Disabilities Month!

Although this article is long, I found the first half very useful in thinking about how we give feedback to students and how it feels to them.

Inspiration for the Month:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *